top of page
  • Writer's pictureo.z.

Velothon Sunshine Coast: first stage

Updated: Aug 16, 2018

Today the first of three stages of Velothon Sunshine Coast took place. It started at 6:30 am at Buderim Wanderers Football Club in Buderim.


Starting area at Buderim Wanderers Football Club in Buderim

It's been a ride of 118 km and 2.590 m of elevation. And this area has some elevations! They are relatively short but the gradient is quite often reaching 20 percent. So this first day was quite a challenge. And, of course, after more or less the half of the distance, I had a flat tire. My chances to win this event are gone ;-)


Again a flat tire but the first time during a race.

After the fixing break the motivation was down. I had to go almost the complete second part on my own. But it was a nice ride along the Glasshouse Mountains.



The legs started to feel heavier. And reaching 20 km I started my countdown. Entering Buderim I thought the finishline would be around the corner. But I forgot that this was an uphill finish. And it was going up! I was one of the few who could manage somehow to cycle up. The majority pushed their bikes. Good it was just one kilometer left to go.



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page