top of page
  • Writer's pictureo.z.

Hamburg Cyclassics 100

Last weekend I participated in the 100 km at Cyclassics in Hamburg. It was my third participation after a year off in 2017. As always a trip to Hamburg is very nice. And closer than expected: There is a direct connection from Dresden which needs just 4:20 h. It is an EC/ IC and accepts even bikes! So we went on Friday afternoon and came back on Sunday late in the evening.

My bike in Eurocity on the way to Hamburg.

There were some organizational changes as a different place for the registration and the bags. And, of course, the new 100 km track. It is now a diversified high speed track and flat like the Berlin and Dresden races. Köhlbrandbrücke is no longer part of it. It is more interesting and challenging than the old track. But it is too dangerous. I have seen three big accidents and we were lucky in various other occasions: Pylons and traffic islands, construction works, traffic signs, parked cars and trucks, narrow streets and tight curves. So unfortunately I think the course needs some rework. Anyhow, due to the necessary high concentration throughout the complete race it was over very quick and my time and rank was amazing: 2:38:51, 87th place out of 6.428 and 16th in my age group. My second best result after Velothon Berlin 2016 (in terms of time).


Bib number at Borchardplatz during breakfast prior to the race.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page