top of page
  • Writer's pictureo.z.

Velothon Sunshine Coast: Final stage

Updated: Aug 16, 2018

The start of the final stage took place at Novotel Twin Waters Resort, about 10 km from Maroochydore. So it was a warm-up ride early in the morning to the starting line as the start took again place at 6:30 am. But as everybody had to go I wasn't cycling alone very long.

Ride to the start in Twin Waters at 6:00 am.

The final stage could also be done as a single event so additional riders participated. It had 152 km and about 2.000 meter of elevation. Among those the famous Obi Obi climb at kilometer 109.5 with a length of 1.5 km and elevation percentages above 20.

The first 40 kilometer were a flat ride along the coast to the north. The we did a turn westward and cycled to the first hills. The legs felt surprisingly good and better then during the previous day. The big group was gone as the peloton was too big to be able to stick with them. But our small group did quite well and we had for quite a while a good speed together with the later ladies overall winner and her pace maker.

Then the Obi Obi climb was reached. It started very slowly and I thought the 9.5 percent in the average in 1.5 km should be possible to climb. And then the real climb started. It was steep. The two riders in front of me started to cycle to the left and the ride of the street. But I wanted to stay straight. And I did. But it was tough. The organization had placed several groups along the climb to cheer up the riders which was helpful indeed. And finally the sign100 meter to go appeared. People were cheering. The final curve. I sped up. Happy I made it. But after the curve I saw a further final steep climb coming up. What a surprise. Tough to face it. But what to do? Another final effort and then it was really done. And it felt very good. (See the video in the blog article "Cycling at Sunshine Coast Australia", including me!)

Very bottom of the Obi Obi Climb.

Official race marker of the start of the climb at Obi Obi Road.

Final own picture at Obi Obi. Then the fighting started.

I was enthusiastic. I thought I would do the remaining 40 kilometer like nothing. But it lasted just 10 kilometers. I passed one rider and two caught me. No one else came along. Sometimes I worried that I would have lost the track. I really had to fight during the remaining 30 kilometers. Then I reached State Route 70. And I had to stop at a red traffic light. It's entering a big road and fine, I thought. No ups and downs any more and I cycled very fast at about 35 to 36 km/h. But not even at the last kilometer the street was closed. I had three red traffic lights and stopped at two of them. Cars slowed me down. It was an unpleasant end of three great racing days. Or better said: riding days as the organization crew told us it would be a ride and not a race.


Done and dusted as said in the video. But happy I did it.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page