top of page
  • Writer's pictureo.z.

Velorace Dresden

Updated: Aug 16, 2018

The event:

This years edition of Velorace Dresden took place on August 12. The starting line and the exhibition area was placed on Neumarkt, in front of Frauenkirche to make the event more present in the city

Ten minutes before the start of Velorace 2018.

The race:

The starting line was on Terrassenufer after the first neutralized meters on cobble stones. But what means neutralized? The reason for loosing contact to the first group was because of not speeding up enough on the cobble stones section. I tried hard, speeded up, hit the heartbeat limit but it was impossible to reach them. So I cycled with a group of about 10 riders in the beginning. I managed to stay in the front part of the increasing group and was even making the pace in three or four occasions.

The finishing time was quite the same like the last two years: 31 minutes per lap and 2:35 overall with an average speed of 40.5 km/h. So the minimum target was achieved with the average speed over 40 km/h.

The question:

As always in these races, before the start and during the first kilometers of it, I ask myself if I really had to participate and if it is really worth it. It is stressful, it carries a risk of an accident and it cost some money. But on the other hand it is some proof of the fitness level and right now I feel like participating as long as I can.


The organization:

The finisher beer.

The 105 kilometer distance suffered quite a loss of about 100 participants compared to last year which is 22.3 percent less or just 77.2 percent of last years participation. The catering after the finish line was relatively poor as we got water, some water melon and apples surrounded by wasps and one cup (0.3 l) of non-alcoholic beer.


I registered already in December and the starting fee was quite low as I paid only 55 Euro. It is always the same in these events in Germany. I really would love to stay after the race but there is absolutely no reason for it and absolutely nothing I could do.


5 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page