top of page
  • Writer's pictureo.z.

L'Etape du Tour 2018

Updated: Aug 16, 2018

This years stage of the Tour de France where everybody had the chance to participate is the 10th stage from Annecy to Le Grand Bornand. It leads over three category 1 passes: Col de la Croi Fry, Col de Romme and Col de la Colombière. And also over one "hors category" pass, the Montée du Plateau des Glières. A total of about 4.000 meter of elevation and an overall distance of 168 km.


I tried to attack the course slowly and took my break on every feeding zone. As I started from grid 11 out of 16 there was not really anything else to do than to take it easy. Nevertheless, I doubt if I could have done this race without a break.


Entering the starting area in Annecy.

After the sunny start at 7:40 the Lac d'Annecy was almost completely surrounded.

The first kilometers after the start close to Lac d'Annecy.

Then we were reached the mountains. During the first uphill, still close to the lake, some riders had already difficulties. Along the race I've seen a lot of people suffering. The same I observed in South Africa and in London last year. Maybe it is related to different mentalities in different countries. And maybe Germans are not risking so much and need to be more on the safe side. Just a guess.

The first official uphill to Col de la Croix Fry was the longest one of the day with about 12 km and the majority of the riders were still fresh. The second climb, the Montée du Plateau des Glières, was the one I had most respect of: 11.2 percent in the average for 6 km. But surprisingly the gradient was not the issue in the climb. It was the riders. The narrow street was overcrowded with riders. About four riders had space in the width of the street. So it was difficult to pass and I just couldn't go my pace.


The narrow street of Montée du Plateau des Glières

The gravel road on Plateau du Glières

After these first two climbs quite a long flat part had to be passed. Nobody was really going my speed. Each time I reached a group I felt like going faster. So I had to cycle alone until the bottom of Col de Romme.


Cycling more or less alone until Col du Romme climb

The climb to Col du Romme was 9 km long with an average gradient of 8.9 percent. And the amount of people pushing their bikes or sitting and lying along the street almost animated me to stop. But if you do a spontaneous break it is even more difficult to restart as you start relaxing. So I pushed me and finished the uphill. The break I took on the top. And then I enjoyed the downhill to the final climb of the day. I think the heat of the day was also quite a factor and made the ride really difficult.


Start of the climb to Col du Romme

The final uphill of the day was reached: 7.5 km to Col de la Colombière with an average gradient of also 8.9 percent. The first kilometers were relatively easy with 7 to 9 percent in the average. But the last two kilometers had 10 percent. But it helped that it were the final 2 kilometers uphill. How fantastic it felt to see the top of the hill knowing these are the last uphill meters of the day.


The final top of the hill of Col de la Colombière in sight

The final break with final refreshments and down the hill to Le Grand Bornand. And this was a good feeling! Just sliding down towards the finish line. Knowing it is practically done.


Just 10 kilometer downhill left to the finish line in Le Grand Bornand

But already today I'm not content any more. Looking at my result with 8:39:55 and the classification I achieved I feel I should have tried harder. I should have tried to finish with as less breaks as possible instead of taking it easy. 5.692 place out of 12.158 is definitely not good enough and not in line with my other results in other races. Also place 775 of 1.820 of the age group is not better. So I have to try harder next time. Setting a target before the start should help.



L'Etape du Tour has been a fantastic event. Fantastic organization, a wonderful track and a unique experience. I definitely aim to participate again next year. October 25th is already marked in my calendar when next years stage will be published.


Done. Proud and happy. My first race challenge in the Alps.

67 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page