top of page
  • Writer's pictureo.z.

My new bike: no disc brakes

One week ago I ordered a new roadbike. I chose a Rose X-LITE FOUR Ultegra Di2. Without disc brakes.

October last year I bought a gravel bike from Canyon with disc brakes. I followed the recommendations in the bike magazines to have disc brakes on a gravel bike. I actually never had problems with caliper brakes. But by using the disc brakes on the new bike I was fascinated how accurate and powerful they work. So I thought why not having disc brakes on my roadbike.

During the festival of the magazine "RoadBIKE" in Playa de Muro I heard coincidently some statements with respect to the question if a roadbike shouild have disc brakes or not. The former professional Mike Kluge stated that he actually rides a bike to "ride" and not to "brake". And furthermore he never really had an issue with the brakes. That sounded very simple but true. I thought it over for a while and finally I agreed. In addition it is to be mentioned that the price adder for the Rose bike I ordered would amount to 450,00 Euro. And the additional weight is about 400 gram.

Now it seems clear and easy to me not to decide for disc brakes. Tell me your ideas and consideration pro or against disc brakes. I am curious to hear other opinions.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page