top of page
  • Writer's pictureo.z.

Luggage concept Qatar Airways

I decided to fly with Qatar Airways to Capetown because the possibility to take the bike within the normal allowance of 30 kg saved me easily 200 Euro on the intercontinental flight. But the guy on check-in weighed my hand luggage! This was the first time ever my hand luggage was weighed. That's why I absolutely haven't looked at the weight limit of just 7 kg. Who on earth has only 7 kg hand luggage. The suitcase already must weigh 4 kg. So I had to change almost everything from my carry-on into the bike bag. Good at least nobody thought about weighing it.

For the way back I had a look at the webpage of Qatar airways how much an additional suitcase would cost. But they are not offering it. The only possibility is to buy kilograms above the weight limit which results for a suitcase of 20 kg in about 660 Euro.

So it seems the weight limits really have to be compared carefully. It is easier if you travel at least with somebody else who is not bringing a bike. But otherwise you can't rely on the case that your hand luggage is not weighed.

And please note: Qatar Airways is just another airline what ever prices they may have won. There is absolutely nothing different or special or different. Except, maybe, the nice, young and good looking stewardesses.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page